Saturday 13 May 2017

Album Review: WHILE SHE SLEEPS - You Are We

While She Sleeps - You Are We

01. You Are We
02. Steal The Sun
03. Feel
04. Empire Of Silence
05. Wide Awake
06. Silence Speaks
07. Settle Down Society
08. Hurricane
09. Revolt
10. Civil Isolation
11. In Another Now

I've been following Sheffield's While She Sleeps since their first album, and have seen them live a few times. I haven't caught them on their current tour, but I saw them play with Cancer Bats at The Ritz in Manchester a couple of years ago, and witnessed the utter carnage at last year's 2000 Trees festival in Cheltenham. There are few bands that have drawn such a die-hard following from Metal, Punk, and Hardcore circles like these guys have, but it's more than just their music that appeals to people. It's also their relentless work ethic, their DIY approach to the music scene, and the blood sweat and tears that clearly go into everything they do that has earned them respect from so many corners of the Alternative scene.

This third While She Sleeps album is in the same vein as its predecessor, but with slightly better songs. They had already set the bar very high, and once again have exceeded expectations with You Are We. It's all familiar musical territory. They have created a sound that combines various genres of heavy music with raw emotion and use this to craft powerful and memorable songs that are multilayered and textured in a way that few artists in these circles are capable of doing. I believe they found their sound on the second record, and You Are We is the result of the band developing it further. It's an interesting journey.

You Are We sizzles with energy, and is a rewarding listen from start to end. Hurricane and Silence Speaks are the obvious singles for me, so if you're new to the band, give them a listen and I'm quietly confident that they'll have you hooked.

While She Sleeps are something special, and the world is finally waking up to that. I can genuinely say that I'm enjoying watching this band revel in the success they have earned, and seeing how their efforts and positivity are influencing a new generation of musicians in these turbulent times.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig