Tuesday, 19 March 2019

Album Review: QUEENSRŸCHE - The Verdict

01. Blood Of The Levant
02. Man The Machine
03. Light-Years
04. Inside Out
05. Propaganda Fashion
06. Dark Reverie
07. Bent
08. Inner Unrest
09. Launder The Conscience
10. Portrait

Monday, 18 March 2019

Album Review: A PALE HORSE NAMED DEATH - When The World Becomes Undone

A Pale Horse Named Death - When The World Becomes Undone

01. As It Begins
02. When The World Becomes Undone
03. Love The Ones You Hate
04. Fell In My Hole
05. Succumbing To The Event Horizon
06. Vultures
07. End Of Days
08. The Woods
09. We All Break Down
10. Lay With The Wicked
11. Splinters
12. Dreams Of The End
13. Closure


Wednesday, 13 March 2019

Album Review: IN FLAMES - I, The Mask

In Flames - I, The Mask

01. Voices
02. I, The Mask
03. Call My Name
04. I Am Above
05. Follow Me
06. (This Is Our) House
07. We Will Remember
08. In This Life
09. Burn
10. Deep Inside
11. All The Pain
12. Stay With Me
13. Not Alone (Bonus Track)

Tuesday, 12 March 2019

Album Review: BEAST IN BLACK - From Hell With Love

Beast In Black - From Hell With Love

01. Cry Out For A Hero
02. From Hell With Love
03. Sweet True Lies
04. Repentless
05. Die By The Blade
06. Oceandeep
07. Unlimited Sin
08. True Believer
09. This Is War
10. Heart Of Steel
11. No Surrender
12. Killed By Death (Motorhead cover)
13. No Easy Way Out (Robert Tepper cover)


Sunday, 10 March 2019

Movie Review: LORDS OF CHAOS (2018)

Out of all of Metal's subgenres, none has quite the high volume of utter cunts as the Black Metal scene. As a teenager, I remember the reports of the church burnings and murders, and how this scene sky-rocketed from nowhere as edgy teens embraced their inner nihilist after being easily impressed by the violence, racism, homophobia and general intolerance being purveyed by a handful of assholes in Norway.

Unless you have been living under a rock for the past thirty years, you will probably be familiar with the infamous story that Lords Of Chaos is based upon. In short, Øystein "Euronymous" Aarseth, founder of Mayhem and arguably the inventor of True Norwegian Black Metal, is obsessed with being in the most evil band in the world. He is involved in a few church burnings along with his mates, and eventually gets stabbed to death by his former bass player and Burzum main-man Varg Vikernes. Oh, and before that, original Mayhem singer Dead blows his brains out, and Faust (from Emperor) stabs a gay man to death in some bushes. Fun true fact: Faust stabbed the man thirty-seven times as well as repeatedly kicking him in the head. He only served nine years in jail before being released.

As expected, many Black Metal fans worldwide have condemned this movie as inaccurate. However, with so many varying accounts of the story, everyone seems to have their own truth. Having done a bit of research, the script seems to be way more accurate than many Black Metal cry-babies believe. Sorry, but Varg Vikernes was a murderous Nazi sympathising scumbag, and he is depicted as the knob he is in real life. Having said that, this is a movie and there will always be some creativity and bending of the truth in order to make the story work in this context. After all, Lords Of Chaos is not a documentary.

Director Jonas Åkerlund, who incidentally used to play drums for Bathory, has done a fantastic job, especially with his attention to detail. Some of the real-life photos and locations from that era are replicated incredibly well. I was a little put off by the use of American actors instead of Norwegian ones, but in fairness, they are excellent, particularly Rory Culkin, whose depiction of Euronymous shows the character's vulnerable side as well as the vile qualities he was known for. The film accurately shows the geeky, awkward and immature side of these young men. As the viewer, you feel yourself being dragged further down the rabbit hole as their attempts to shock and convey an image of authentic evil, get out of hand as they continually try to impress and compete with one another.

I thoroughly enjoyed Lord Of Chaos. It had a good balance of humour and unsettling darkness, as well as being a perfectly paced, beautifully filmed, and overall well-made film. It has also given the Black Metal scene some mainstream attention, which I'm sure will enrage genre purists and gatekeepers everywhere. Such sweet tears.


Saturday, 9 March 2019

Album Review: HERMAN FRANK - Fight The Fear

Herman Frank - Fight The Fear

01. Until The End
02. Fear
03. Terror
04. Sinners
05. Hatred
06. Hail & Row
07. Hitman
08. Stay Down
09. Rock You
10. Don't Cross The Line
11. Are You Ready
12. Wings Of Destiny
13. Waiting For The Night
14. Lost In Heaven

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig