Wednesday 16 August 2017

Album Review: RAGE - Seasons of the Black

Rage - Seasons of the Black

01. Season of the Black
02. Serpents in Disguise
03. Blackened Karma
04. Time Will Tell
05. Septic Bite
06. Walk Among the Dead
07. All We Know Is Not
08. Gaia
09. Justify
10. Bloodshed in Paradise
11. Farewell

Bonus Disc:

01. Adoration
02. Southcross Union
03. Assorted by Satan
04. Faster Than Hell
05. Sword Made of Steel
06. Down to the Bone

Rage (not to be confused with the shitty early 90's Dance band of the same name) are one of those Metal bands that have been around forever and a day, yet are still widely unknown. It's a shame really, as their output is consistently good, and they were around in the early stages of their scene, influencing artists that would go on to sell millions of records. Rage have many great songs, but have never had that hit single to launch them into the mainstream.

Their music walks the line between Thrash and Traditional Heavy Metal, reminding me of Metallica's Kill 'Em All and 90's Saxon at the same time. They have Speed Metal roots, yet know how to pen a melodic chorus when they need one.

Seasons Of The Black is their 24th studio album (if you include the debut they released under the name Avenger in 1984), and is a roaring return to form. It's easily as good as anything the 'Big Four' have churned out over the last decade, and really hits the spot. They're clearly still passionate about Metal, unlike many of their more successful peers who seem to be content to 'mail it in'. This new record is full of great songs, and to remind the listener that they've been awesome since before most of their fans were even born, they've re-recorded some of their early songs which are included on the bonus disc with the limited edition version of the album. Adoration is particularly killer.

If you're unfamiliar with Rage, Seasons Of the Black is a great place to start. If you like them, you'll then have 23 more studio albums to sink your teeth into. That'll keep you busy.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig