Wednesday 25 October 2017

Album Review: PETER AND THE TEST TUBE BABIES - That Shallot

Peter and the Test Tube Babies - That Shallot

01. In Yer Face
02. C U Next Tuesday
03. None Of Your Fucking Business
04. Wrong
05. Silicone Beer Gut
06. Youth Of Today
07. Say What You Want
08. Trampkiller
09. When Girlfriends Attack
10. What Next?
11. Crap Californian Punk Band (Feat. Lars from Rancid)
12. Honesty
13. 17 Red
14. Pissedenstein

Aside from The Misfits, Peter And The Test Tube Babies are probably my favourite Punk band. I first saw them back in the 90's at The Wheatsheaf in Stoke-on-Trent, and they were absolutely amazing. I picked up their Schwein Lake Live CD from their merch stand, and it was one of those really special albums that I've listened to time and time again, and never get bored of. Naturally, when this new album came out, I bought it on it's release day and have already played it to death.

That Shallot is yet another great album from Peter And The Test Tube Babies. It's full of the un-PC, laddish humour we've come to expect from them, and most importantly, is packed full of catchy Punk songs that you can sing along to when you've had way too much to drink.

My favourites are the instant classic None Of Your Fucking Business, Trampkiller, and the dark cautionary tale of Pissedenstein, which ends the album on an unexpectedly uncomfortable note.

Peter And The Test Tube Babies have delivered the goods once again, with a superb album that has way more depth and diversity than they'll probably receive credit for. That Shallot is the best tenner I've spent for weeks.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig