Friday 25 May 2018

Album Review: LORDI - Sexorcism

Lordi - Sexorcism

01. Sexorcism
02. Your Tongue's Got the Cat
03. Romeo Ate Juliet
04. Naked in My Cellar
05. The Beast Is Yet to Cum
06. Polterchrist
07. SCG9: The Documented Phenomenon
08. Slashion Model Girls
09. Rimskin Assassin
10. Hell Has Room
11. Hot & Satanned
12. Sodomesticated Animal
13. Haunting Season

Lordi will almost certainly be remembered as the Metal band dressed as monsters who won the Eurovision song contest for Finland a few years ago. Since then, they've carried on doing what they do best, playing 80's tinged Horror themed Heavy Metal. A band after my own heart.

With stage costumes like theirs, there will always be lazy comparisons to Gwar. Lordi are visually more refined and musically owe more to late 80's/early 90's Alice Cooper, whereas Gwar were more in the realms of Thrash and Punk.  Naturally, there will always be naysayers in the world of theatrical bands with strong images, but Lordi have invariably been way more than a gimmick band. They are awesome musicians with an undeniably catchy repertoire of great Heavy Metal songs, and that's what counts the most.

Sexorcism is every bit the politically incorrect, Horror inspired, slab of fun escapism that fans want and expect. It's thoroughly ridiculous and highly entertaining. Musically, the big 80's Rock sound is there throughout the record with a lashing of huge riffs and monstrous multi-layered choruses. My personal favourite tracks are Your Tongue's Got The Cat, Slashion Model Girls, and the epic finale Haunting Season.

Lordi are an institution. They defy mainstream trends and continue to do their own brand of Monster Metal, and do it consistently well. Admittedly, they have experimented with a heavier sound on a couple of previous records, but aside from those blips, it's been business as usual. If you loved them before, Sexorcism is yet another essential addition to your record collection.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig