Thursday 21 September 2017

Album Review: CELLAR DARLING - This Is The Sound

Cellar Darling - This Is The Sound

01. Avalanche
02. Black Moon
03. Challenge
04. Hullaballoo
05. Six Days
06. The Hermit
07. Water
08. Fire, Wind & Earth
09. Rebels
10. Under The Oak Tree…
11. …High Above These Crowns
12. Starcrusher
13. Hedonia
14. Redemption

What kind of a name for a band is Cellar Darling? It sounds like a pet name Joseph Fritzl may have given to one of his children. Anyway, aside from that, I saw an article on the internet about this debut record, and it got my attention long enough for me to give it a listen.

They sound a bit like modern Metal mixed with Folk and a splash of Classical music. Lead singer Anna Murphy has a voice that's both beautiful and delicate sounding, as opposed to the operatic powerhouse style of the singers from similar-ish bands that delve into the world of Folk, like Nightwish and Within Temptation. Cellar Darling are more like The Cranberries mixed with Lacuna Coil, if that makes any sense?

Considering this is their debut album, it's actually pretty good. Apparently, the members were either booted from or quit popular Folk-Metal band Eluveitie, and decided to form their own band. I'm not familiar with Eluveitie, but from the quality of this release, their departure sounds like their loss, as Cellar Darling have some serious talent in their ranks.

All in all, it's not the kind of genre I usually listen to that much, but I'm pleased I did as I really enjoyed it. It's a strong debut, but my favourites are Black Moon, and the riff-tastic The Hermit.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig