Tuesday 18 April 2017

Album Review: DEEP PURPLE - InFinite

Deep Purple - Infinite

01. Time For Bedlam
02. Hip Boots
03. All I Got Is You
04. One Night In Vegas
05. Get Me Out Of Here
06. The Surprising
07. Johnny's Band
08. On Top Of The World
09. Birds Of Prey
10. Roadhouse Blues (The Doors Cover)

InFinite is Rock legends Deep Purple's 20th studio album, which is an impressive milestone to say the least.

Opener Time For Bedlam sounds like classic Deep Purple but with a modern production, courtesy of legendary producer Bob Ezrin, and lyrics that remind you that we're all in 2017.
"Sucking my milk from the venomous tit of the state, This clearly designed to suppress every thought of escape"
It's a great Rock song which features their signature Hammond organ and Steve Morse's magical guitar tones making it exactly what I wanted to hear from a new Deep Purple single. 

The good news is that the opener is a great indicator for what the rest of the album holds. Every track is strong, and very much Deep Purple. My personal favourites are The Surprising and All I Got Is You, but that may change on my next listen, as it's one of those albums where you hear something new in the songs with each play, demonstrating what a multi-layered and well written piece of work InFinite is.

How Deep Purple and Bob Ezrin have managed to make this 20th album sound so fresh and interesting without compromising the classic and identifiable sound of the band is truly an impressive feat. InFinite is a really strong record, and a must for all Deep Purple fans. The forthcoming tour has been named The Long Goodbye by the band, so if InFinite ends up being the last studio album they make, they will have certainly ended their career on a high.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig