Tuesday 5 June 2018

Album Review: BURN THE PRIEST - Legion: XX

01. Inherit the Earth (The Accused cover)
02. Honey Bucket (Melvins cover)
03. Kerosene (Big Black cover)
04. Kill Yourself (S.O.D cover)
05. I Against I (Bad Brains cover)
06. Axis Rot (Sliang Laos cover)
07. Jesus Built My Hotrod (Ministry cover)
08. One Voice (Agnostic Front cover)
09. Dine Alone (Quicksand cover)
10. We Gotta Know (Cro-Mags cover)

If you weren't already aware, Burn The Priest is the name Lamb of God went by before they changed it. They reverted back to their original band name for this release as it seemed more fitting. Legion: XX is a covers album celebrating 20 years of Lamb of God. They've recorded versions of songs by the bands that inspired them and helped to shape the band that we all know today.

Most of these songs are from the Punk / Hardcore scene, and mainly for that reason, it draws a number of similarities to Slayer's covers album Undisputed Attitude (well worth checking out if you haven't already). Like Slayer, Lamb of God have remained fairly faithful to the originals, with only the vocals that are notably different for most of these cuts. The drum fills are a little more technical and the production values give an updated brutality to these songs. Other than that, they're pretty much straight forward covers, as opposed to re-imaginings.

I'm sure that a large percentage of Lamb of God fans will be hearing these songs for the first time, introducing them to some killer Punk and Hardcore, as well as providing plenty of back catalogues for them to delve into at their leisure.

Legion: XX is a great tribute to Lamb of God's favourite bands and it sounds like they had a lot of fun putting it together. It's also an entertaining stop-gap between studio albums of original material, and is far more satisfying than an EP.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig