Monday 17 December 2018

Album Review: BIG TIME KILL - Shock And Awe

Big Time Kill - Shock and Awe

01. Carbon
02. Body Talk
03. I Don't Care Anymore
04. DTs
05. Don't Need You
06. Evil
07. Shock and Awe
08. Answer
09. Echo Heart
10. Overload
11. Failed Regeneration

Big Time Kill is an Industrial / Synth Rock act from Boston (U.S.A) comprising of multi-instrumentalists Adam Schneider and Ben Caccia, and this is their debut full-length album.

Shock and Awe reminds me of some of my favourite Industrial bands from the mid-to-late nineties like Filter, Marilyn Manson, Prick, and 'Violent New Breed era' Shotgun Messiah, which was a pleasant surprise.

Opener Carbon has a nice 80's vibe about it, and is interspliced with some Reznor-esque Industrial savagery. Body Talk sounds a bit like sleazy 80's Hard Rock but with plenty of distortion, giving it a contemporary feel. It also has a really catchy chorus and some very cool lead guitar licks.

I Don't Care Anymore is a fantastic slab of Industrial Funk that sounds like the love child of Marilyn Manson and Living Colour. Other stand-out tracks for me are the uplifting Evil, the superbly retro Answer, and the infectious title track that also mixes a decent amount of Funk and Pop into the Industrial mix.

I thoroughly enjoyed Shock And Awe. I've heard countless bands doing the Ministry-meets-Manson-meets-Reznor thing, and most of them are as dull as dishwater. Big Time Kill, however, have got it right. The emphasis is on song-writing here, and the Industrial sheen comes afterwards, making the album very listenable, and packed with potentially commercial Alternative anthems. Big Time Kill deserve to have some serious level of success with this record, as it's full of killer tunes and stands shoulder-to-shoulder with the giants of the genre.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig