Tuesday 11 December 2018

Album Review: DISTURBED - Evolution

Disturbed - Evolution

01. Are You Ready
02. No More
03. A Reason to Fight
04. In Another Time
05. Stronger on Your Own
06. Hold On to Memories
07. Saviour of Nothing
08. Watch You Burn
09. The Best Ones Lie
10. Already Gone
11. The Sound of Silence (Live) [feat. Myles Kennedy] (Bonus Track)
12. This Venom (Bonus Track)
13. Are You Ready (Sam de Jong Remix) (Bonus Track)
14. Uninvited Guest (Bonus Track)

Disturbed are instantly identifiable by their overly-processed, heavy Nu Metal production, coupled with David Draiman’s unique voice and Reggae-style delivery. This formula is pure magic and has made them worldwide superstars, so why change anything? For me, that’s one of Disturbed’s downfalls. All of their records sound very ‘samey’. Like AC/DC, you always know what you’re going to get.

What Disturbed do have is the skill to write very catchy songs, full of hooks and grooves. They’re a delight for Rock DJ’s, as most of their music is both danceable and instantly accessible for listeners.

David Draiman was recently saying in interviews how Evolution is very different from previous releases, hence the title. It really isn’t. OK, there’s more electro-acoustic work than expected and some updated electronica here and there, but for the most part, it’s just another Disturbed record. That’s not to say it’s bad. It’s actually pretty good. There’re some great songs on here, particularly In Another Time, and the lively opener Are You Ready.

Existing fans will undoubtably love Evolution, and I’m sure it’ll reel in plenty of new fans too, allowing Disturbed to reach the younger generation and ‘evolve’ past the dangers of Nu Metal nostalgia.

Disturbed are a unique band with an easily identifiable sound, and a plethora of huge hits. Evolution is another strong addition to their back catalogue, and I can only see them getting bigger and bigger.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig