Monday 17 December 2018

Album Review: THE PRODIGY - No Tourists

The Prodigy - No Tourists

01. Need Some1
02. Light Up the Sky
03. We Live Forever
04. No Tourists
05. Fight Fire with Fire (feat. Ho99o9)
06. Timebomb Zone
07. Champions of London
08. Boom Boom Tap
09. Resonate
10. Give Me a Signal (feat. Barns Courtney)

Since 1996, The Prodigy have been the Dance band that appeal to fans of Punk and Metal. Before then, they were big on the Dance scene, but their hit Firestarter received some heavy rotation on Rock TV and radio stations, and the song is still regularly requested at Metal club nights. I totally get it. There's something fierce and anarchic about them, oozing an energy that's as malevolent as it is danceable. This is the soundtrack to getting wasted and smashing the place up with no regrets, and The Prodigy continues to be a wonderful thorn in the side of the mainstream.

I loved their previous LP, 2015's The Day Is My Enemy, but after a few listens, I think No Tourists is even better. Light Up The Sky is classic Prodigy, and I can imagine this one being brutal live. In fairness, that's the case with most of these tracks! My other favourites are No Tourists and Give Me A Signal, but there's not much in it, as every song on here is killer.

The Prodigy have struck gold with No Tourists. It has the classic Prodigy sound, so instantly feels familiar, but manages to still sound contemporary and vital. This is dystopian Electronica for dark times, and they're continuing to do it as well as, if not better than anyone else.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig