Thursday 10 October 2019

Album Review: WEDNESDAY 13 - Necrophaze

Wednesday 13 - Necrophaze
Wednesday 13 - Necrophaze

01. Necrophaze (Feat. Alice Cooper)
02. Bring Your Own Blood
03. Zodiac
04. Monster (Feat. Cristina Scabbia)
05. Decompose
06. Be Warned (Feat. Jeff Clayton)
07. The Hearse
08. Tie Me A Noose
09. Life Will Kill Us All
10. Bury The Hatchet
11. Necrophaze Main Theme (End Credits)
12. Animal (Fuck Like A Beast) (Feat. Alex Laiho) (W.A.S.P. cover)

After his impressive 2017 album Condolences (read my review here) and his brilliant set at last year's Bloodstock Festival (review here), I've been really looking forward to Necrophaze.

The previous album was a little more 'Metal' than usual with plenty of Slayer-esque riffs, but this new one sounds more like classic Wednesday 13 with a healthy shot of Punk mixed back in and is overall a bit more fun.

Opener, Necrophaze, has a spoken word introduction from Alice Cooper, reminiscent of the one Vincent Price did for Alice on his 1975 album Welcome To My Nightmare. It builds into a heavy, pounding tune that sets the tone for the record nicely.

Alice's daughter Calico Cooper is the voice introducing Bring Your Own Blood, which is an upbeat undead party rocker with some creepy electronica weaved throughout.

For me, the stand-out track is Monster, which features additional vocals from Lacuna Coil's Cristina Scabbia. It's ridiculously catchy and one of the best songs Wednesday 13 has ever released. I also love the cover of the W.A.S.P classic, Animal (Fuck Like A Beast), which features Children Of Bodom's Alex Laiho on guitar.

Necrophaze is more than just 'business as usual' for Wednesday 13. It's him bringing his A game, and an album that's his best since the legendary Fang Bang from 2006. Everything is right here. The artwork, the song quality, and the general tone of the release. It's just a great album and perfect to get everyone in the mood for Halloween.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig