Friday 23 November 2018

Album Review: AMARANTHE - Helix

Amaranthe - Helix

01. The Score
02. 365
03. Inferno
04. Countdown
05. Helix
06. Dream
07. GG6
08. Breakthrough Starshot
09. My Haven
10. Iconic
11. Unified
12. Momentum

The first time I heard Amaranthe was around the time their second album, The Nexus, came out. I heard the title track and watched the music video. I was instantly hooked. There are very few bands out there who are doing something genuinely original, but Amaranthe are completely unique. They have three lead singers, and combine technical melodic Metal with Euro-Pop. That's an over-simplification really, because they draw from such a vast amount of styles which also include Power Metal, Death Metal, Metalcore, and even Dance. Their music is insanely catchy, and if, like me, you have a soft spot for Pop music as well as Metal, Amaranthe may well be your new favourite band.

I thought that their last album was their defining masterpiece, but Helix may well have topped it. Musically, it's very much in the same ball park as its predecessors, however this album seems to be a bit heavier overall.

It's their first album to feature new singer, Nils Molin, who handles the 'clean male vocals'. He has a fantastic voice and is a great addition to the team. Despite this change in personnel, Amaranthe have retained their musical identity, and anyone who's already a fan is sure to enjoy Helix.

Helix is packed with huge, infectious tracks, and there's not a duffer among them. Still, if I had to pick favourites, I'd have to go with Inferno, 365, and Breakthrough Starshot.

Amaranthe have an almost flawless back catalogue, and Helix is as good as anything they've released before. Both the musicianship and the song writing is superb, and the band has proven once again that they're one of the most innovative, interesting and genuinely ground-breaking acts in the Metal scene.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig