Wednesday 21 November 2018

Album Review: HANK VON HELL - Egomania

Hank Von Hell - Egomania

01. Egomania
02. Pretty Decent Exposure
03. Blood
04. Dirty Money
05. Bum To Bum
06. Never Again
07. Bombwalk Chic
08. Wild Boy Blues
09. Too High
10. Adios (Where's My Sombrero?)

As a massive Turbonegro fan, it was an absolute joy to hear that their legendary former front-man was releasing a solo album.

Egomania is superb. Each track is a well-crafted chunk of insanely catchy mix of Hard Rock, Punk, balls-out Rock n’ Roll. Every song is also soaked in character courtesy of Hank’s unmistakable vocals and intelligently hilarious lyrics. It certainly sits nicely alongside the Deathpunk classics of Turbonegro, and any fans of Hank’s old band will no doubt love his debut solo record.

The production is also worth mentioning, as the album sounds absolutely amazing. It’s all so big, powerful and clear.

Picking favourites is really hard as this album is such a solid beast, but at this point in time, I’ll have to go for Bum To Bum, Wild Boy Blues, Pretty Decent Exposure, and of course, that infectious title track!

Listening to Egomania made me realise just how much I’ve missed Hank. He’s a living legend and the Turbonegro records he sang on have been an important part of the soundtrack of my life. I’m genuinely happy that he’s got his shit back together and is making amazing music again.  Welcome back Hank!


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig