Tuesday 24 March 2020

Album Review: AMBUSH - Infidel

Ambush - Infidel

01. Infidel
02. Yperite
03. Leave Them To Die
04. Hellbiter
05. The Summoning
06. The Demon Within
07. A Silent Killer
08. Iron Helm Of War
09. Heart Of Stone
10. Lust For Blood

I discovered Ambush by accident a few days ago. Don't be fooled by the album cover, this band is all about full-on Judas Priest worship. I heard the lead single Hellbiter and the chorus had enough of its own character to warrant giving Infidel a spin. Let's be honest here, no-one likes a clone (Airbourne can fuck off), but being heavily influenced by a band, particularly the best Metal band ever, is acceptable, providing you bring some of your own flavours to the table.

To be fair to Ambush, they're really fucking good. If they had been around in the 80's, they'd have undoubtably sold over a million records. 

Opener Infidel sounds a little too close to Judas Priest's Rapid Fire for comfort. However, it's followed up by a great stomper of a track that is Yperite, which wouldn't have sounded out of place on Accept's Metal Heart album.

Other favourites include the riff-tastic A Silent Killer and the melodic monster Heart Of Stone.

The production and musicianship is first class, so if the idea of some young dudes smashing out some Judas Priest inspired Heavy Metal is your bag, than Ambush is absolutely a band you should check out.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig