Saturday 27 May 2017

Album Review: LINKIN PARK - One More Light

Linkin Park - One More Light

01. Nobody Can Save Me
02. Good Goodbye (feat. Pusha T & Stormzy)
03. Talking to Myself
04. Battle Symphony
05. Invisible
06. Heavy (feat. Kiiara)
07. Sorry for Now
08. Halfway Right
09. One More Light
10. Sharp Edges

Through the years I've defended many bands who've changed their musical styles for artistic reasons, amid cries of "sell out", especially when they've made music in a more melodic and commercial direction. Paradise Lost, Megadeth, Life Of Agony... there are so many. I've felt that it's always important for an artist to push boundaries and create music that excites them and that they're truly passionate about, even if it means pissing off the percentage of their existing fan base that always wants the new album to sound like an old album. And then there's One More Light.

Bloody fucking Hell! This is a pretty dramatic change. If you were hoping for Hybrid Theory Pt.2, or even something like their last album (2014's The Hunting Party), you can forget it. One More Light is a Pop album. I don't mean Pop Rock like Paramore etc, I mean actual Pop music. The type that's playing in the gym 24/7. It's More Taio Cruz or Rhianna than it is Faith No More or Incubus. Seriously. It's not even vaguely a Rock album. Where are the guitars, the bass and the real drums? I wonder if the entire band were even involved in the creative process, or if the two singers and the DJ made it by themselves?

As far as this genre of music goes, it's pretty good. The production is top notch, and the songs are all well written. It's just so far removed from the Linkin Park we've all known for such a long time, that perhaps this record should have been released under a different name? Is this the end of the Rock band we all knew, or will they release a remix album of this material with some crushing guitars and come back to the world of Metal? It'll certainly be interesting to see where they go from here.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig