Monday 24 August 2020

Album Review: CREEPER - Sex, Death & The Infinite Void

01. Hallelujah!
02. Be My End
03. Born Cold
04. Cyanide
05. Celestial Violence
06. Annabelle
07. Paradise
08. Poisoned Heart
09. Thorns Of Love
10. Four Years Ago
11. Holy War
12. Napalm Girls
13. The Crown Of Life
14. Black Moon
15. All My Friends

Sex, Death & The Infinite Void is Creeper's second full-length album. Their debut, Eternity, In Your Arms (read my review here) is fantastic, so this new one had a lot to live up to. Fortunately, they've released another absolute belter. 

Blending 80's Goth, Indie, and Punk perfectly, like the love-child of The Smiths, My Chemical Romance and The Cure, Creeper have their niche nailed down with expert precision. There seems to be less of the high-octane Punk that on its predecessor, such as gems like Poison Pens and Black Rain, and sonically more emphasis on their vintage Rock 'n' Roll side. That's not a bad thing as the songs are just so good and don't deviate too drastically from the sound we associate them with.

Like their previous album, Sex, Death & The Infinite Void is packed with songs that should be hit singles, if they're not already. However, most of these new songs are more palatable for a main-stream audience, without compromising their identity.

If I was forced to pick favourites, I'd have to go for the dark Americana Poisoned Heart, the upbeat Indie-Pop of Be My End and Annabelle, and the wonderfully Gothic Black Moon. Oh, and I can't forget the pure Bowie of Cyanide.

There is a lot to be cynical about regarding this record, especially with its lack of Punk. However, it is an undeniably great album, and possibly the best thing to come out of 2020 so far.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig