Thursday 18 February 2021

EP Review: FRIGHT NIGHT - The Maddest Stories Ever Told


01. The Killer Must Kill Again
02. Black Angel, White Angel (Danzig cover)
03. Eibon
04. Children Of The Night
05. Devil's Cry

Fright Night are a Horror-inspired Gothic Rock band from Warsaw, Poland. They've been around since 2018 and The Maddest Stories Ever Told is their debut release. 

Being in a Horror-inspired Gothic Rock band myself, Fright Night was obviously going to appeal to me a lot. It's actually even better than I thought it would be.

Imagine a mix of The 69 Eyes, Bauhaus, Danzig and The Other, and you'd be somewhere close. Fright Night clearly have a great love of Gothic Rock and Horror Punk, and that passion and enthusiasm really shines through on this EP.

I remember their vocalist, Lukasz Boldyn, from The Poisoned Hearts (read my review of their Eternal Hunger EP here), so he's clearly being singing this style of music for some time, and has perfected that baritone Goth-voice. The rest of Fright Night are also on-point with their playing, and together, they have crafted something very special.

All the songs are great, but if I had to pick a favourite I would probably go for Devil's Cry, with its soulful Americana-tinged acoustic intro which builds into a hard rocking behemoth.

If you like this genre of music and Horror themes, you can't go wrong with Fright Night. It's a superb introduction to a band that could become major players in the international Goth scene someday. 


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig