Thursday 23 September 2021

Album Review: Dream Tröll – Realm of the Tormentör


Dream Tröll – Realm of the Tormentör

01. The Tormentor
02. She Got The Devil Inside
03. Winner Takes Nothing
04. Here Comes Chaos
05. Watch It Burn
06. As Death Rains From The Sky


I half-expected these guys to be some twee Power Metal band, but I was very happy to hear that they're way cooler than that. Dream Troll are more of a Traditional Metal band, with some 80's synth and a smidge of Prog. They remind me a little of Striker, but for the most part, have crafted their own sound in a scene that has been milked like an aging cow. 

Realm of the Tormentor has only six songs but clocks in at over thirty minutes. It's all killer, no filler. The emphasis seems to be on big catchy choruses, and Dream Troll certainly don't shy away from a bit of Pop to really cement those hooks. Anyone looking for pure brutality may not appreciate this record, but fans of truly great Metal songs, particularly those written before the early nineties, should be all over this like a rash.

Opener, The Tormenter, is possibly my favourite, with the epic Here Comes Chaos coming in a close second. She Got The Devil Inside is another absolute banger, and would have sold a million copies if it had been released in 1985.

Dream Troll fucking rock. I'm so pleased I discovered these guys and look forward to delving into their back catalogue.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig