Monday 21 December 2020

Album Review: KILLER BE KILLED - Reluctant Hero


01. Deconstructing Self-Destruction
02. Dream Gone Bad
03. Left Of Center
04. Inner Calm From Outer Storms
05. Filthy Vagabond
06. From A Crowded Wound
07. The Great Purge
08. Comfort From Nothing
09. Animus
10. Dead Limbs
11. Reluctant Hero


Now here's something awesome. Relunctant Hero is the second studio album from the super-group Killer Be Killed, which features Max Cavalera (Soulfly, ex-Sepultura etc), Troy Sanders (Mastodon), Greg Puciato (ex-Dillinger Escape Plan), and drummer Ben Koller (Converge).

Reluctant Hero is packed full of melodic, powerful masterpieces, and is as heavy as a bag of spanners. Some of it has a sludgy groove, unsurprisingly sounding a bit like Mastodon, with a Gojira-meets-Deftones vibe, such as on the track Inner Calm From Outer Storms. Other parts are more progressive, drawing from an array of influences. They also know when to thrash out, providing that savage Metal kick when needed.

It's certainly a varied album, but remains cohesive and makes for a recipe of interesting, exciting, brutal Metal. Much of it sounds familiar in many ways, but it also comes across as fresh and new, like a contemporary lick of paint has been applied. 

I absolutely love the three-vocal approach. It adds variety and each singer plays to their strengths, as well as giving each song plenty of character.

My favourites are the upbeat riff-monster of an opener Deconstructing Self-Destruction, the Hardcore soaked Filthy Vagabond, and the multi-textured Dream Gone Bad.

Reluctant Hero is a truly great modern Metal album. It's contemporary, diverse, interesting, and packs a punch in all the right places. Aside from early Sepultura and perhaps Nailbomb, I like this record more than anything its individual members have released with their other bands. That's a big and an undoubtedly controversial claim, but this is a damn big record with more beef than a farmer's market.



No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig