Wednesday 23 August 2017

Album Review: EXIT EDEN - Rhapsodies In Black

Exit Eden - Rhapsodies In Black

01. A Question Of Time (Depeche Mode)
02. Unfaithful (Rhianna)
03. Incomplete (Backstreet Boys)
04. Impossible (Shontelle)
05. Frozen (Madonna)
06. Heaven (Bryan Adams)
07. Firework (Katy Perry)
08. Skyfall (Adele)
09. Total Eclipse Of The Heart (Bonnie Tyler)
10. Paparazzi (Lady Gaga)
11. Fade To Grey (Visage)

Exit Eden is a female-fronted super-group consisting of four amazing vocalists, Amanda Somerville, Marina La Torraca, Anna Brunner, and Clémentine Delauney, who collectively have worked with artists including Serenity, Visions of Atlantis, Avantasia, Epica and Kamelot. If that wasn't enough talent, Epica's Simone Simons adds guest vocals on the tracks Skyfall and Frozen. Rhapsodies In Black is a covers album, but not like one you've ever heard before.

I'm sure naysayers have already questioned the purpose of this album as, after all, it's a record of mostly Pop covers and could be seen as a gimmick like the Punk Goes Pop series. Personally, I feel cynics and critics should get over themselves. This is first and foremost entertainment, and entertain is exactly what does.

Rhapsodies In Black is absolutely brilliant from start to finish. The choice of songs is great, and these Operatic Metal interpretations work perfectly. The production is crisp and full, and stands up to anything else on the market today. The performance from all musicians involved is mind-blowing, and each song has been meticulously re-crafted into a Metal masterpiece.

Best of all, this album retains a sense of fun, and there really aren't many releases that have come out this year that I've played as many times as this one.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig