Wednesday 1 August 2018

Album Review: OTEP - Kult 45

Otep - Kult 45

01. Hail To the Thief
02. Halt Right
03. Molotov
04. Said the Snake
05. Undefeated
06. Trigger Warning
07. Cross Contamination
08. Shelter In Place
09. Boss
10. To the Gallows
11. Sirens Calling
12. Invisible People
13. Be Brave
14. Wake Up (Rage Against The Machine cover)
15. Feral Oracle (Bonus Track)
16. The Tribe Speaks (Bonus Track)

Otep Shamaya clearly fucking hates Donald Trump, so much so that she's written an entire album about him and his presidency. The title 'Kult 45' comes from Donald being the 45th president, and cult is spelt with a 'K' due to his links with white supremacists. Fortunately, I fucking loathe Donald Trump too, so let's get stuck in!

After the intro Hail To The Thief, Halt Right kicks things off to an incendiary start, with savage riffing matched by Otep's lyrics. The pace continues throughout Kult 45, with killer track after killer track. Personal favourites are the awesome Undefeated ("Always punch a Nazi"-YES!), Molotov, Cross Contamination, and the energy soaked Invisible People.

Kult 45 has Otep raging about the Alt-Right, the KKK, Nazi sympathisers, rape culture, corruption, war, and the marginalization of minorities. I remember a time when it was 'a given' that the aforementioned were 'bad', but partly thanks to Donald Trump, anyone who challenges injustice is branded a 'libtard' or a 'Social Justice Warrior'. The internet is full of scum who feel that it's perfectly acceptable to spread ignorance and hatred, and to challenge them is in some way an attack on freedom of speech. Fuck those idiots, I'm with Otep on this! These are important issues and political bands shouldn't be shying away from them. Fortunately, 'shy' isn't a word I associate with Otep. I'm also sick about reading about how some people aren't into this music because they don't like politics. What they mean is they don't like their fucked-up views being challenged. Fuck them too!

I'll be honest, I haven't listened to an Otep record in some time. I remember the music being heavier and less melodic, but I prefer what I'm hearing now. It's very Nu Metal with a good mix of Rap Metal and Hardcore, giving the record lots of bounce as well as heaviness. 

Due to the political climate out there, I'm sure these will be challenging times for Otep. Make no mistake though, Kult 45 is an awesome record. It's full of anger and defiance, as well as being packed full of catchy, slamming Metal songs. It's easily one of the best records to come out this year.


1 comment

  1. 100% agree with you here Dan, both politically and regarding the music. I have all of Otep's recordings and this certainly sits alongside everything else with ease. A cracker of an album.


Blog Layout Designed by pipdig