Tuesday 19 September 2017

Album Review: DEAD CROSS - Dead Cross

Dead Cross - Dead Cross

01. Seizure And Desist
02. Idiopathic
03. Obedience School
04. Shillelagh
05. Bela Lugosi's Dead (Bauhaus cover)
06. Divine Faith
07. Grave Slave
08. The Future Has Been Cancelled
09. Gag Reflex
10. Church Of The Motherfuckers

Dead Cross is one of ex-Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo's many projects, and this one showcases his love of extreme Hardcore Punk. Dave's masterstroke was bringing Faith No More's Mike Patton on board as lead vocalist.

Mike's eclectic and dynamic vocal styles add so much character, melody and also utter insanity to this album, that what started off as genre specific has ended up as a unique piece of musical art.

After recently playing for Suicidal Tendencies and The Misfits, Dave Lombardo seems to be enjoying revisiting his Hardcore roots and unleashing some high velocity, old school influenced blasts of energy, which is fine by me. Dead Cross has injected new life into a stagnating scene, and no doubt has introduced a new generation to some of his influences, in the same way Slayer's Punk covers album Undisputed Attitude did back in 1996.

If you like Hardcore Punk, or just enjoy extreme music that's clearly 'a bit fucked in the head', Dead Cross is well worth checking out.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig