Friday 20 October 2017

Album Review: PVRIS - All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell

PVRIS - All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell

01. Heaven
02. Half
03. Anyone Else
04. What's Wrong
05. Walk Alone
06. Same Soul
07. Winter
08. No Mercy
09. Separate
10. Nola 1

After their hugely successful 2014 debut album, White Noise, PVRIS have finally unleashed their follow up. To me, they're as much of a Dark Pop or Electronica band as they are a Rock band, so I can see how they've managed to cross over into so many scenes and have achieved such a high level of success so quickly. Not to mention that they also write really good songs.

The album is full of dark, reflective songs, riddled with melancholy melodies. Opener, Heaven, has hit single written all over it with its soaring chorus that's as infectious as it is brilliant. Another personal favourite is What's Wrong, which sounds like the missing link between 80's Goth and 30 Seconds To Mars. Lead singer and multi-instrumentalist, Lynn Gunn, is immensely talented and cool as ice, yet with a vulnerable, relatable quality that I'm sure helps her to connect with her growing legion of fans. She's everything you'd want from a young rock star in 2017, and I'm sure her mesmerising performance on this record will cement her a place in the Alternative Rock history books.

All We Know of Heaven, All We Need of Hell is a highly accomplished piece of work, and boasts hit singles that have real depth. It's definitely one of the strongest Alternative albums I've heard this year, so far.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig