Sunday 18 March 2018

Album Review: MICHAEL SCHENKER FEST - Resurrection

Michael Schenker Fest - Resurrection

01. Heart and Soul (feat. Robin McAuley & Kirk Hammett)
02. Warrior (feat. Gary Barden, Graham Bonnet, Robin McAuley & Doogie White)
03. Take Me To The Church (feat. Doogie White)
04. Night Moods (feat. Graham Bonnet)
05. The Girl With The Stars in Her Eyes (feat. Doogie White)
06. Everest (feat. Graham Bonnet)
07. Messin’ Around (feat. Graham Bonnet)
08. Time Knows When It’s Time (feat. Robin McAuley)
09. Anchors (feat. Doogie White)
10. Salvation
11. Livin’ a Life Worth Livin’ (feat. Gary Barden)
12. The Last Supper (feat. Gary Barden, Graham Bonnet, Robin McAuley & Doogie White)

Ex UFO/Scorpions lead guitarist and living legend Michael Schenker is back with an absolutely storming new album. Resurrection is an amazing project, where Michael has brought back onboard some of the finest musicians he's ever worked with, mainly from his MSG (Michael Schenker Group) band. He did an all-star tour a couple of years ago under the name Michael Schenker Fest, and it was so successful that he's re-assembled the team to work on this new project.

Michael is far from the first guitarist to use a number of different singers on one album, but what I like about Resurrection is that the singers have been used on a number of the same tracks, sometimes taking the lead, and at other times as backing vocalists, all complimenting each other's unique styles.

The production is crisp and modern, giving a contemporary edge to what is otherwise classic Heavy Metal.  Every song on here has been meticulously crafted, and paired with the ideal singer or singers for the track.

Opener Heart and Soul brings a healthy splattering of Power Metal to the table and features a guest appearance from Metallica's Kirk Hammett on lead guitar.  It sets the tone perfectly for this amazing 'fest' of Traditional Hard Rock and Heavy Metal.

My personal favourites are Take Me To The Church, sung by Doogie White (who sang on the underrated, yet amazing Rainbow album Stranger In Us All), and Warrior, which features all four singers. The latter starts with some relaxing Folk, before stomping into a mid-paced powerful anthem which sounds like a mix of Deep Purple and Manowar.

Michael is a phenomenal talent and he has managed to see his vision through with this highly ambitious record, producing a masterpiece in his repertoire. It also seems that everyone involved had a great time playing on the album, and these positive vibes shine through making Resurrection an absolute pleasure to listen to.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig