Friday 11 May 2018

Album Review: BULLET - Dust To Gold

Bullet - Dust To Gold

01. Speed and Attack
02. Ain't Enough
03. Rogue Soldier
04. Fuel the Fire
05. One More Round
06. Highway Love
07. Wildfire
08. Screams in the Night
09. Forever Rise
10. The Prophecy
11. Hollow Grounds
12. Dust to Gold

I first saw Bullet several years ago when they supported Hardcore Superstar at Nottingham Rock City. I'd never heard of them before and remember quite enjoying their set. They seemed like a fairly decent yet generic Hard Rock / Heavy Metal band, and to be brutally honest, I'd forgotten all about them. Fast forward to the present day, and I saw their music video for Ain't Enough in the sidebar on YouTube. I watched it, and thought it was great, so I've decided to check out this new album and give them some of my time.

Wow! Someone has forgotten to tell Bullet that it's not 1981 anymore, and good on that person! They remind me of Accept, Judas Priest, AC/DC and Scorpions as they all looked and sounded in that era. What's not to love here?

The production is perfect for this kind of music, giving a subtle modern sheen to a classic sound. What separates Bullet from many of the 'retro' bands out there are the unmistakable crazy, shrill vocals which sound like Udo Dirkschneider being electrocuted. They give the band a lot of character, and certainly add to the 'over the top' delivery of the music.

Dust To Gold is a solid album and doesn't take its foot off the Heavy Metal pedal at all. It's an uncompromising display of ultra-traditional Heavy Metal throughout, and boasts some real gems including Ain't Enough, Speed and Attack, and Fuel The Fire. It's definitely one of the most consistently good albums I've heard this year, with not a filler in sight.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig