Tuesday 29 May 2018

Album Review: KOBRA AND THE LOTUS - Prevail II

Kobra and the Lotus - Prevail II

01 Losing My Humanity
02 Let Me Love You
03 Ribe
04 My Immortal
05 Human Empire
06 Heartache
07 Velvet Roses
08 Modern Day Hero
09 You're Insane
10 White Water
11 The Chain
12 Let Me Love You (acoustic bonus track)

Prevail II is the fifth album from Kobra and the Lotus and follows last year's excellent Prevail I (see the review here). The previous album was a tough act to follow, but I think Prevail II is even better.

The first two tracks, Losing My Humanity and Let Me Love You, are two of the best songs this band has ever released, and both are perfect Kobra and the Lotus, blending powerful technical modern Metal with beautiful melodies and powerful vocals. These songs alone should catapult the band into the mainstream.

Prevail II is packed with awesome songs. Human Empire is brutally heavy, but doesn't shy away from having a massive chorus. Heartache is in much more commercial territory and is another potential hit. Velvet Roses has some nice filthy guitar riffing which work excellently juxtaposed with Kobra Paige's soaring vocals. Their cover of Fleetwood Mac's The Chain is almost unrecognisable on first listen, but has really grown on me and is a well-crafted version, bringing their own spin to an already legendary song.

The fact that Prevail I didn't see Kobra and the Lotus go supersonic in the Metal scene is quite astounding. With this new set of killer songs added to their repertoire, they deserve to become festival headliners. With the right exposure, there's absolutely no reason why that couldn't happen. My fingers are crossed for them!


1 comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig