Monday 30 July 2018

Album Review: LUCIFER - Lucifer II

Lucifer - Lucifer II

01. California Son
02. Dreamer
03. Phoenix
04. Dancing With Mr. D (Rolling Stones cover)
05. Reaper On Your Heels
06. Eyes In The Sky
07. Before The Sun
08. Aton
09. Faux Pharaoh

I'm a bit late to the party with Lucifer. I'd heard a little about them but listening to this record was my first experience of their music. Before I pressed 'play', I had a preconceived idea as to what they'd sound like. With a logo that looks like the classic Rush logo, the black leather jackets etc, they just screamed lo-fi Seventies Rock. In this case, you can judge a book (or record) by it's cover because that's exactly what you get.

Think a female fronted Stoner Rock n' Roll band that's hugely influenced by Black Sabbath, Uriah Heep etc, but with that 'Modern-Retro' approach, harking back to the days when Indie journalists considered Wolf Mother to be ground-breaking and innovative.

Yes, I'm cynical as fuck because there are so many of these sorts of bands around these days with their vintage clothes and endlessly recycled Blues-Rock riffs. The originals artists invented something amazing. The new generation are just copying.

OK, so we've established that Lucifer brings absolutely nothing new or fresh in any way to the table. That doesn't mean that they're not good at what they do, and that there isn't a massive market for this sort of thing. After all, Airbourne are insanely popular and they're basically just a new AC/DC

I did a little research on Lucifer and apparently Cathedral guitarist Gaz Jennings played on their first record and since his departure, they've been joined by fellow Swede Nicke Andersson (Hellacopters / Entombed). That makes a lot of sense as Nicke brought a filthy Sabbath vibe to Entombed's amazing album DCLXVI: To Ride, Shoot Straight and Speak The Truth. His other band Hellacopters was a full on retro Rock n Roll affair, so if you mash together his areas of expertise, you get Lucifer.

Lucifer II manages to keep its head above the sea of rivals by having some really well crafted, listenable songs. Johanna Sadonis also has a beautiful voice that has a haunting yet trippy element to it, but can deliver the power when required. There's no denying that Phoenix is a brilliant song, and for me it's the best song on the album. To be fair, the whole album is very good, and if I'm in the mood for some retro rock n' roll, Lucifer II certainly hits the spot.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig