Wednesday 13 October 2021

Album Review: SPIRITBOX - Eternal Blue


01. Sun Killer
02. Hurt You
03. Yellowjacket (feat. Sam Carter of Architects)
04. The Summit
05. Secret Garden
06. Silk In The Strings
07. Holy Roller
08. Eternal Blue
09. We Live In A Strange World
10. Halcyon
11. Circle With Me
12. Constance

Spiritbox are one of the most hyped bands in the Metal scene. Despite having previously released enough singles to create a full album, Eternal Blue is technically their debut full-length. I'm going to cut to the chase, this is a genuinely awesome piece of work.

The production is literally perfect for this type of music. It's heavier than a sack of spanners, but has an enticing clarity. Every note is crystal clear, and the 'God-tier' technical musicianship can be fully appreciated. 

I'm not normally a massive fan of Djent and Prog Metal, but Spiritbox have drawn on these styles to create a grooving monster that has memorable and irresistible songs. Their songs are often beautiful and ethereal, but they know when to crush skulls too. This juxtaposition of styles, as well as singer, Courtney LaPlante's ear-candy voice and Metal-as-fuck screams make this band really special.

This whole album packs 'banger-after-banger', and I expect to see it topping many people's album of the year list.

I love the whole thing, but were I forced to choose favourites, I'd have to go with the infectious Hurt You, Circle With Me, and the sonically filthy Holy Roller.

Eternal Blue is nothing short of magnificent.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig