Tuesday 28 November 2017

Album Review: BITERS - The Future Ain't What It Used To Be

Biters - The Future Ain't What It Used To Be
01. Let It Roll
02. Stone Cold Love
03. Callin' You Home
04. Don't Turn This Good Heart Bad
05. Gypsy Rose
06. No Stranger To Heartache
07. Vulture City
08. Hollywood
09. Chasin' The Feeling
10. Goin' Back To Georgia

Biters is a Rock band from Atlanta, USA. They have a real retro thing going on, a 70's vibe to be precise. These guys clearly worship at the temple of Cheap Trick, T-Rex, and Bowie, which is fine with me, as I love those artists and the Glam sound from that era.

Like many of these retro bands, they're not offering anything you haven't heard a hundred times before, but I have to admit that they do what they do extremely well. The Future Ain't What It Used To Be is way better than many recent records put out by legends from the 70's, including the disappointing new Cheap Trick album. I see it as a positive when the students outshine the masters, as it shows that the future of Rock n' Roll is in safe hands.

What's really cool about Biters is their ability to wear their influences on their sleeves, without directly copying any beloved artists or songs. The spirit is there, as are the vintage tones that feel like welcoming home an old friend, Don't Turn This Good Heart Bad reminds me of Thin Lizzy, and Stone Cold Love is like the song Marc Bolan never wrote.

The Future Ain't What It Used To Be is packed full of catchy songs, and deserves to be a huge success. Don't believe me? Those nice people at Earache Records have put the whole record on YouTube for you to check out (see below).


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig