Wednesday 19 September 2018

Album Review: LORD OF THE LOST - Thornstar

Lord of the Lost - Thornstar
01. On This Rock I Will Build My Church
02. Loreley
03. Black Halo
04. In Our Hands
05. Morgana
06. Haythor
07. Naxxar
08. Cut Me Out
09. The Mortarian
10. Under the Sun
11. In Darkness, In Light
12. Forevermore
13. Ruins

14. Abracadabra (feat. Dero Goi)
15. Voodoo Doll
16. The Art of Love
17. Lily of the Vale
18. Penta
19. Free Radicals
20. Live Pray Die Repeat

Germany's Lord of the Lost is an interesting band. They mix Goth with Industrial and Metal in just the right quantities as to be able to appeal to fans of artists like Marilyn Manson and Rammstein, but ease off just enough on the screams and aggression, and bring in enough dark melodies and Electronica to appeal to the Goth scene too. Naturally, they're huge in their homeland as this kind of music and imagery is insanely popular over there.

Thornstar is their sixth studio album, and is an ambitious one too, being both a concept record as well as a double LP. Napalm Records clearly have a lot of faith in them, green-lighting such a project.

I wouldn't say that this is the strongest album I've heard from Lord of the Lost, but it's certainly a good one. The two lead singles from this release, On This Rock I Will Build My Church and Morgana are both really strong and make for a great introduction to this album, and Lord Of The Lost in general. Another personal favourite is In Darkness, In Light which stays in the world of Gothic Electronica, and has less of the angry Metal. I also like the piano-laced Naxxar, with its dramatic tones and pounding riffs.

For the most part, they do sound quite a bit like a very angry Blutengel mixed with Deathstars, which is cool with me. Thornstar has some great moments, but I get the feeling that Lord of the Lost's finest work is yet to come.


No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig