Monday 3 December 2018

Album Review: STEPHEN PEARCY - View To A Thrill

Stephen Pearcy - View To A Thrill

01. U Only Live Twice
02. Sky Falling
03. Malibu
04. One In A Million
05. Double Shot
06. Secrets To Tell
07. Not Killin’ Me
08. Dangerous Thing
09. I'm A Ratt
10. From The Inside
11. Violator
When it comes to drama, lawsuits and general back-stabbing, Ratt are the masters. Since the announcement that the classic era living members of the band were getting back together, bar drummer Bobby Blotzer (who had tried to form a brand new line-up under the Ratt moniker) I was naively expecting a brand new Ratt album in 2018. Unfortunately, after even more drama, lead guitar wizard Warren DeMartini quit again, and the prospect of a new record has gone out of the window. It's such a shame, as their last studio album, Infestation, was absolutely killer. Instead, 2018 sees another solo album from lead singer Stephen Pearcy.

View To A Thrill is the follow up from last year's Smash album (read my review here), and musically shares familiar ground with its predecessor. 

I think that View To A Thrill has the same issue as Smash. It's enjoyable, but it's simply not as good as Ratt, both in terms of the writing and production. I think the truth is that, although the classic era members of Ratt can't seem to get along, they are always stronger together. Without them, Stephen seems to be stuck releasing records that are solid, but are missing the real magic that made him a mega-star back in the 80's.

Having said that, there are some pretty decent songs on here, especially the James Bond themed U Only Live Twice (there are plenty more Bond references throughout the record which is fun), Malibu, and the super-sleazy I'm A Ratt.

View To A Thrill isn't bad at all, but it's only 'pretty decent' at best. I still have my fingers crossed for a reconciliation with Warren and a mind-blowing new Ratt album. I'm not holding my breath though.

No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Layout Designed by pipdig